Local Area and Attractions

Benenden

Benenden village www.benendenvillage.org.uk is focussed around the village green with its cricket pitch much used in the summer months. This is bounded by St George's Church whose 12 bells are often rung on a Friday night, the Victorian village school and The Bull public house www.thebullatbenenden.co.uk, all only 5 minutes' walk from The Potting Shed. 

Along the main street are The Community Store, Cafe, Post Office, manicurist/pedicurist, and Wards Family Butchers. Other churches in the village are The Catholic Church and Iden Green Congregational Church. A 30 min walk through the woods brings one to The Woodcock pub, also serving food.


The historic and equally delightful towns of Cranbrook, 3 miles, and Tenterden 7 miles, are the nearest shopping centres. Hawkhurst 7 miles, has a  digital cinema www.kinodigital.co.uk.

Places of Interest under 10 miles away

Cranbrook www.cranbrook.org 
Tenterden www.tenterdentown.co.uk 
Steam Railway www.kesr.org.uk 
Sissinghurst Castle  www.nationaltrust.org.uk/sissinghurst-castle/  

Benenden Church
Benenden Church

Great Dixter www.greatdixter.co.uk 
Hole Park www.holepark.com    
Scotney Castle www.nationaltrust.org.uk/scotney-castle/
Bodiam Castle www.nationaltrust.org.uk/bodiam-castle/ 
Pashley Manor www.pashleymanorgardens.com
Batemans www.nationaltrust.org.uk/batemans 
Merriments www.merriments.co.uk/contactus.asp
Marle Place gardens and gallery www.marleplace.co.uk

Wealden District Council walking website 

 

Smallhythe Place
Rolvenden Historic Vehicle Collection
Finchcocks Museum of Music
Biddenden and Chapel Down Vineyards
Bedgebury Pinetum
Hempsted Forest
Silcocks Organic Farm Shop

Benenden Village Green
Benenden Village Green

Hartley Dyke Farm Shop and fish shop


Nearby Farmers Markets take place in Rolvenden, Cranbrook and Sissinghurst www.kfma.org.uk

Other open gardens seasonally, copy of the Yellow Book available. http://www.ngs.org.uk/

Places of Interest under 20 miles away

Tunbridge Wells
Knole, www.nationaltrust.org.uk/knole/
Penshurst www.penshurstplace.com/
Doddington Place, www.doddingtonplacegardens.co.uk
Leeds Castle

The Potting Shed Field
The Potting Shed Field

Godinton Park www.godinton-house-gardens.co.ukCamber Sands
Rye  
WInchelsea  
Hastings Old Town and Fire Hills
The recently refurbished 1930s De la Warr Pavilion in Bexhill www.dlwp.com

Places of Interest within a 30 - 40 minute drive 

Great Dixter
Great Dixter

Goodnestone Park Gardens www.goodnestoneparkgardens.co.uk
Canterbury Cathedral
The Romney Marsh Churches www.beautyofromneymarsh.com/church1.html  
The birdwatchers' haven of Dungeness www.dungenessbirdobs.org.uk 

The Potting Shed Holiday let

The Green,
Benenden,
Cranbrook,
Kent,
TN17 4DL
UK

01580 240 308

thepottingshedholidaylet@gmail.com